Try our conversational search powered by Generative AI!

UI Enhancements

Vote:

Hi Everyone,

I need a custom property in the CMS editor tab for any pagetypes, 

When I click on the edit section, the custom property say "Add Entries" and on clicking that button, 
I get a popup interface/dialogue window, which has few input controls takes text boxes and a page reference field.
Bascially it will be a custom dialog window to open with episerver interface and then I need them to store back to the page?
I need some suggestion as the best way to store those 3 or 4 fields value back onto CMS page too. 
I believe i need to use Dojo for this. I am no expert of Dojo and just started reading it I am using version CMS version 7.0 and 7.1
What do you think I should do or any quick help to start with? Do you have any code or sample available for similar nature?
Best regards,
Naz
Feb 10, 2015 15:42
Vote:

Hi, Naz,

First of all, I would strongly suggest you upgrade to the latest version of EPiServer. It contains lots of improvements, but also bugfixes which could give you some unnecessary headache. Apart from that, EPiServer issues regular updates where you gain a lot with very little effort of updating nuget packages. If you haven't heavily started to develop features, I suggest you don't start from 7.0/7.1, but instead create a new solution in 7.5 using Visual Studio extensions. You will be most up-to-date and you can start from there.

As for having a couple of properties, if I understand correctly, I don't think you need a dojo widget, but instead a so-called local block. This means that you define a block type and instead of creating it in the assets pane and adding it to the contentarea, you define it on the page. By doing this, when you click on the property, it will open up a panel left to the assets pane where these properties would be seen.

Grab this example and see if this fits you:

[ContentType(
        GUID = "???",
        AvailableInEditMode = false
    )]