Don't miss out Virtual Happy Hour today (April 26).

Try our conversational search powered by Generative AI!

Controller, RedirectToAction and HttpPost

Vote:

Hi, I'm new to EPiServer MVC but have worked on some simple MVC projects before. I'm stumbeling to get some of the usuall MVC-functionallity to work and have 2 questions :).

Question #1:

One of these project had an LogOn controller (get) and a View that when submitting sent me to my LogOn controller (post). I can't get this to work in EPiServer, I'm sent to my LogOn(post) when submitting but the model is always null..

What am I missing?.

[HttpPost]

public ActionResult LogOn(LogOnModel model, string returnUrl)

{

// Empty model..

}

And question #2:

Is it possible to RedirectToAction in EPiServer mvc?. I can only get this to work if I redirect to a controller action in the same controller as the Redirect-statement... (I want to from ControllerA redirect to action in ControllerB).

RedirectToAction("Index", "SomeOtherController");

Apr 29, 2013 10:37
Vote:

For the first question - can you post view code as well?

For second question - in EPiServer page controllers usually are used to to serve incoming requests for page instances. So for example if you have page Page1 and it has coresponding page controller and editor created 2 pages with this page type:

Root -> Start Page -> Page1 type instance 1st

Root -> Start Page -> Page1 type instance 2nd

Question is - to which page instanc you want to redirect? I would assume that maybe you want to store PageReference property in some particular page type and use that as content reference to get page's url and then make a redirect.

For instance: after submitting form you want to show "Thank You page" (code could be something like this - in controller method):

var resultPageReference = currentPage.ThankYouPage;
var urlResolver = ServiceLocator.Current.GetInstance<UrlResolver>();
var contentLoader = ServiceLocator.Current.GetInstance<IContentLoader>();