Try our conversational search powered by Generative AI!

LocalDB is not supported on this platform

Vote:

I'm new to development on Optimizely CMS and I use macOS. We are currently in the middle of migration from CMS v11 to v12. The new dev environment is using docker and until a few days ago there was no issue in compatibility and no limitations. Now I'm not able to run the project as I get the PlatformNotSupportedException "LocalDB is not supported on this platform". Yet our partners who are technical responsible for this platform, have not made any changes to the database or setup

I get that SQL Server LocalDB is a feature of SQL Server, which is Windows only, that's the solution is containerized which should avoid that issue, and did until now. 

My question is if anyone can think of or know reason why this suddenly could be a problem when it has worked fine until now.

Any help/comment/suggestion is highly appreciated

Thanks

Mar 15, 2023 7:51
Vote:

What does the connection string look like in appSettings.json or appSettings.development.json 

Could what you have here be overriding your env variables ?

Edited, Mar 15, 2023 9:16
Vote:

I already checked if that was the case and no connetionstrings in those files. My ConnectionStrings secrets.json look like his: 

{
"ConnectionStrings:EPiServerDB": "Server=localhost; Database=cmsDb;User Id=sa;Password=Passw0rd!;MultipleActiveResultSets=True;TrustServerCertificate=True"
}
Mar 15, 2023 9:45
Vote:

You got a M1 or similar ARM-based mac?

Mar 15, 2023 13:06
Vote:

It's an ARM based Mac 

Mar 15, 2023 13:12
Vote:

Which images/frameworks do you load into the docker container?

Mar 15, 2023 13:19
Vote:

SQL Server

Mar 15, 2023 19:02
Eric Herlitz - Mar 15, 2023 19:40
Care to post the dockerfile?
Enock - Mar 16, 2023 8:39
FROM mcr.microsoft.com/mssql/server:2019-latest AS base

ENV ACCEPT_EULA=Y

USER root

WORKDIR /src
COPY ./Docker/create-db.sh .
RUN chmod +x /src/create-db.sh

USER mssql

EXPOSE 1433