Disable editmode

Member since: 2008
 

Hi.

I am going to move a EPiServer site from one server to another. It takes up to 72 hours bedfore all DNS servers are updated with the new ip, so in this time no users should be able to create, edit, delete, publish etc anything. This is ofcourse so that the database backup is up to date on the new server. 

Is it a way to disable the editmode in EPiServer?

Thanks
Magne

#26223 Nov 26, 2008 11:23
  • Member since: 2005
     

    Hi

    If you just want to disable it temporarily I think the simplest way is to remove all the roles from the autorization section of the UI-location block in web.config.

    If you remove the allow roles line, should look something like below, nobody should be able to enter edit mode.

    <location path="UI">
      <authorization>
        <allow roles="WebEditors, WebAdmins, Administrators" />
        <deny users="*" />
      </authorization>
    </location>

    Regards

    Per Gunsarfs
    EPiServer CMS development team

    #26225 Nov 26, 2008 12:02
  • Member since: 2008
     

    Thanks Per!

    -Magne 

    #26228 Nov 26, 2008 13:17
This thread is locked and should be used for reference only. Please use the Episerver CMS 7 and earlier versions forum to open new discussions.
Please login to post a reply