Try our conversational search powered by Generative AI!

Honeypot form element

Vote:

Since Captcha isn't compliant with WCAG and my customer doesn't like the idea of google recaptcha I've decided to do a honeypot element instead.

I've created the element and am no trying to validate it before it sends out. It's all sent by mail.

Now when the forms get's submitted I've managed to hit the run method but this is where I get stuck. I don't now how to handle it from here. 

Sorry if the code is messy, been trying all kinds of different solutions since I'm fairly new to all this, mostly there for example.

But basically what I want is if the honeypot contains any value i don't want to send the mail but it should look like everything went well for the user. 

public class EpiFormsHoneyPotActor : SendEmailAfterSubmissionActor
    {
        private readonly Injected<IFormDataRepository> _formDataRepository;
        public override object Run(object input)
        {            
            var result = new SubmissionActorResult { CancelSubmit = false, ErrorMessage = string.Empty };

var submittedData = _formDataRepository.Service.TransformSubmissionDataWithFriendlyName(
                SubmissionData.Data, SubmissionFriendlyNameInfos, true).ToList();            

var honeyPot = submittedData.FirstOrDefault(x => x.Key == "HoneypotElementBlock");
            if (honeyPot.Value != null && honeyPot.Value.ToString().Length > 0)
            {
            }

result.CancelSubmit = true;
            result.ErrorMessage = "shit hit the fan";

return string.Empty;
        }
    }

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks

Edited, Apr 24, 2020 7:42
Vote:

Hi Erik,

The problem with this approach, as you probably noted, is that returning a SubmissionActorResult with a CancelSubmit value of true gives you an error message. To fix this, on your success path you could call base.Run(input) and on your failure path you could return null: