Try our conversational search powered by Generative AI!

New CMS User/Developer - understanding Mosey sample

Vote:

Hi, I have been an Ektron developer for 10 years. I am now looking at Optimizely, and have downloaded the Foundation code and have the Mosey sample running.

I find myself, naturally, trying to associate all the things I do in Ektron with the Optimizely CMS.

I could use some help with a couple of starters:

1. Where is the Menu defined? In the Mosey sample, it reaches to a search service; I had to sign up for an account to get that to not crash.
  2. How do you modify the menu, or create a new one? In Ektron "Menus" is one of the main categories in the CMS left-pane. 
  3. Where are the Templates defined? I see they exist in the CMS because when I create a new page I pick one, but I don't seem them (maybe I am missing them) in the Visual Studio codebase. At least not like Ektron in a \Templates folder
  4. Are there Widgets, like in Ektron?

I'm sure I have more questions but it would go a long way to get the above answered. 

Thanks

Chris

Mar 26, 2024 19:34
Vote:

Hi,

Welcome to the Optimizely Community!

I think the best thing to do is explore the code base and get familiar with the architecture and folder layout as this helps to find areas in the solution. Remember the foundation project is for guidance.

To help you get up and running hopefully this will help:

1. Menu items are defined in a 'LayoutSettings' page within the CMS. Look in the tree navigation and you should see something like 'Settings'. Once you have found this page then there is a property 'MainMenu' this is where you can add some items to the menu. Really you can build a menu however you like this is one-way. You can traverse the page treee and pull out the items you wish and build a navigation that way or implement you own architecture.