Try our conversational search powered by Generative AI!

Episerver Search Index not found

Vote:

I am relatively new to Episerver so please forgive me for any newbie mistakes.

I am implementing search on a multisite setup.  The search works in dev just fine but once promoted out to production I get "0" results.  I gone through the following troubleshooting steps:

1) URL of indexingservice is correct ***

2) MultiSiteBindingsEnabled = true

3) appDatapath\Index *appears* correct (more on this)

4) Testing the service returns "Endpoint not found"

5) Testing the service update returns "Method not allowed"

Here is where it gets weird,

6) Rerun Index command *appears* to work.

But when I go to the folder location I expect the index to be (AppData/index/main/...) I do not see them.  There were indices there that I removed as a test to arrive at this point.  So my question is this, how do I verify where the index command is supposed to be putting the indices?  Or am I missing something completely here?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Stephen

Nov 13, 2015 18:30
Vote:

Take a look at the episerver log.  What does it say when you go to re-index.  There should be some error log in there stating the issue.

there is a place to re-run the index   /episerver/cms/admin/indexcontent.aspx

Nov 13, 2015 18:45
Vote:

Josh,

Thanks for reminding me about logging.  So with that enabled I was able to see that the URL for the IndexingService was not able to connect.  Turns our there is a firewall rule that is causing the problem.  What I am now looking for is a port or protocol that I can use to help setup a proper rule to allow connections to the server so it can get to the IndexingService.

Any ideas?

Steve

Nov 13, 2015 21:39
Vote: