Loading...
Area: Episerver Add-ons
Applies to versions: MarketingAutomationIntegration.MSDynamics 1 and higher

Episerver Connect for Microsoft Dynamics CRM

The Microsoft Dynamics CRM add-on is part of Episerver Connect for Marketing Automation. The add-on connects Microsoft Dynamics CRM with Episerver Forms, allowing marketers to collect visitor data, and pass that on to be used with Microsft Dynamics CRM.

Prerequisites

An Episerver CMS installation with Episerver Forms, and the required Marketing Automation connector components. See Episerver Connect for Marketing Automation.

Installation

The Connect for Microsoft Dynamics CRM MA connector is installed through the NuGet package EPiServer.MarketingAutomationIntegration.MSDynamics. See Platform integration compatibility for supported Episerver versions.

Note: You must be running .NET framework 4.5.2. The add-on is verified on Microsoft Dynamics CRM 2013.

Configuration

You need to configure your Episerver website to use Microsoft Dynamics CRM. For this, you need a username, password, domain, organization, and CRM address associated with your Microsoft Dynamics CRM account. You also need to connect form fields with Microsoft Dynamics CRM, so that data from the specified fields can be sent to Microsoft Dynamics CRM.

These configurations are described in Connect for Microsoft Dynamics CRM in the Episerver User Guide.

Encrypting credentials

Credentials are encrypted and saved based on one of the following options:

  • MAICryptoKey (AES encryption with an SHA256-computer hash based on the value of the key)
  • machineKey of the server in web.config.

Note: For DXC instances, use MAICryptoKey.

If you choose to use machineKey configuration, you should specify a machineKey in the web.config of your site so that when you deploy it to a different server, the same machine key is used on the new server.

Note: If you neglect to specify a machineKey in the web.config, the credentials are removed when the site on the new server is accessed for the first time, in which case you need to save credentials again through the configuration screen. 

If the credentials are already encrypted using machineKey in an existing site, and the MAICryptoKey setting is added, then the credentials are deleted and must be re-entered.

Similarly, if the encryption uses MAICryptoKey first and then you decide to use machineKey encryption (by deleting the MAICryptoKey setting), then the credentials are deleted and must be re-entered.

Related topics

Last updated: Jun 07, 2019