Try our conversational search powered by Generative AI!

rel=nofollow on links

Vote:

Hi all,

I am new to the episerver world and this forum, so I hope that I am going about this the correct way in asking for help/ advice here.

For SEO purposes, I have been asked to add rel=nofollow to certain links in the footer our website. Currently, the footer displays links via the 'page' property (root footer folder is selected) which lists all pages beneth this.

My question, is there any way to implement rel=nofollow on the links that are generated (so in the source it would read <a href="http://www.example.com/" rel="nofollow">Link text</a> or will I need to create a new property?

Thank you in advance for any help that you can offer.

James

Jul 16, 2012 15:05
Vote:

Hi James

Since you're getting the children of a root/container page I would just add a property to those pages that define if you want to hide that page from search engines or not (eg. selected/not selected property). Based on that you can then check if you should add the rel="nofollow" attribute or not.

Hope this helps

Frederik

Jul 16, 2012 16:39
Vote:

Hi Frederik,

Thank you for your reply, this makes sense. However, the requirement is to add the rel=nofollow to the link and not the page.

Is it possible to use a checkbox to add the rel=nofollow to any links that are made to the page?

Thanks,

James

Jul 17, 2012 9:00
Vote:

When you're saying page do you mean EPiServer page or any URL?

Frederik

Jul 17, 2012 10:10
Vote:

All pages would be on episerver.

There is currently a root container called footer which contains the footer pages. The homepage has a property to specify footer links, where you select the footer root container. When this is selected, it automatically shows all pages under the footer root folder.