Try our conversational search powered by Generative AI!

Some basic EPiServer questions

Vote:

Hey,

as you might have noticed by my posts, I am new to EPiServer, I'm trying to figure out the possibilities.

I'm still stuck with some "basic" questions, so I would really appreciate it if anyone could help me out!

- Which version of the CMS would you advise to me?

- Is it possible to use other templates out-of-the-box without using Visual Studio?

- Is there an easy way to create a simple website from scratch? (If seen quite some tutorials, but they are quite complex)

- Any links to tutorials are still welcome though :)

That's about it, any input would be appreciated!

Thanks in advance!

Sep 05, 2011 12:14
Vote:

I forgot one:

- Is it possible to edit the current template without using Visual Studio (I mean the template itself, not it's content)?

Sep 05, 2011 12:16
Vote:

Hi and welcome Veerle!

First off: here's a great collection of links and tutorials from Frederik Vig: http://www.frederikvig.com/2010/05/episerver-developer-resources/

If you mean which version of the CMS you should use then it's CMS 6 R2.

Page Templates (web forms) are created using Visual Studio.

To get you started you could install the sample project AlloyTech. Though you should only use this as reference for EPiServer best practices - do not build your website using AlloyTech as base.

A great framework to get you started is ETF. It contains basic pagetypes for managing start page, news items, etc. You do need, however, to create Page Templates (web forms) by yourself.

Sep 05, 2011 12:44
Vote:

Thanks for your reply!

If I understand correctly, I can create new PageTypes in Admin mode by just simply creating a page and adding Dynamic Properties to it?

I found a great basic website in a tutorial, so I'm currently using this to start from, unfortunately that makes it hard to install ETF, plus when I do, I can't seem to find those pagetypes.