Try our conversational search powered by Generative AI!

Getting Page Reference from URL

Vote:

A complete newbie question by I can't seem to find the answer to this...

How do I get a reference to a page by absolute URL, e.g. "/mysite/child/grand-child"

PageReference.ParseURL looks like the correct method, but what am I missing?

var relUrl = "/CommittedQuitters/Today/Blow-Temptation/";

//var pageRef = PageReference.ParseUrl(relUrl);
            //var pageByLoc = DataFactory.Instance.GetPage(pageRef);

var url = "/mysite/child/grand-child";
var pageRef = PageReference.ParseUrl(url); <-- returns PageReference.EmptyReference
var page = DataFactory.Instance.GetPage(pageRef);

This works, but i'd rather not have the base url specified...

var url = new UrlBuilder("http://localhost:17000/CommittedQuitters/Today/Blow-Temptation/");
object pageRef;
Global.UrlRewriteProvider.ConvertToInternal(url, out pageRef); 

Eventually I will end up with several sites and languages, so the tree structure would be like so for example, so ideally i'd like to be able to retrieve the reference relatively...

"/mysite1/en-gb/child/grandchild"
"/mysite1/fr-fr/child/grandchild"

"/mysite2/en-gb/child/grandchild"
"/mysite2/it-it/child/grandchild"

"/mysite3/en-gb/child/grandchild"
"/mysite3/es-es/child/grandchild"

The way we have been replicating sites for testing purposes is just to copy paste/paste the node and setting the pageStartId in <siteSettings> web.config... waiting for our enterprise license so I may be completely wrong in the above so let me know.

Let me know if you need info.

thanks

Kam

Oct 19, 2010 19:20
Vote:

Hi,

I think you should/could use PermanentLinkUtility.GetPageReference() to get the PageReference from your url.

About the license, you don't need to wait, just order partner developer licence at license.episerver.com and you should get it automatic.

Regards Per

Oct 20, 2010 10:30
Vote:

Actually, it is the demo license which is sent automatically right away.