Disable editmode

Magne Ingvaldsen
Member since: 2008
 

Hi.

I am going to move a EPiServer site from one server to another. It takes up to 72 hours bedfore all DNS servers are updated with the new ip, so in this time no users should be able to create, edit, delete, publish etc anything. This is ofcourse so that the database backup is up to date on the new server. 

Is it a way to disable the editmode in EPiServer?

Thanks
Magne

#26223
Nov 26, 2008 11:23
Per Gunsarfs
Member since: 2005
 

Hi

If you just want to disable it temporarily I think the simplest way is to remove all the roles from the autorization section of the UI-location block in web.config.

If you remove the allow roles line, should look something like below, nobody should be able to enter edit mode.

<location path="UI">
  <authorization>
    <allow roles="WebEditors, WebAdmins, Administrators" />
    <deny users="*" />
  </authorization>
</location>

Regards

Per Gunsarfs
EPiServer CMS development team

#26225
Nov 26, 2008 12:02
Magne Ingvaldsen
Member since: 2008
 

Thanks Per!

-Magne 

#26228
Nov 26, 2008 13:17
This thread is locked and should be used for reference only. Please use the Episerver CMS 7 and earlier versions forum to open new discussions.