Try our conversational search powered by Generative AI!

Upgrade and recompile project

Vote:

Hello,

I am having so many problems with Episerver upgrade that I really feel stupid. I am quite new to Episerver but it seems I haven't got the point. And when I google my errors, it seems that so many people have had so many problems during upgrading procedures... Should it be so? Have Epi succeeded with their upgrading procedure? I've googled at least 10 different step-by-step upgrading procedure from bloggers. Every single blogger has runs into his own errors...

Anyway, I might be about to ask a stupid question but I want to be sure. When upgrading a site with Episerver Deployment Center, the published sites in the IIS directory is updated. How am I supposed to recompile my project? The published site is only a compiled version of my Visual Studio project and is not located at the same place. Am I expected to copy and paste all the files from the published and upgraded site to my project directory, and manually remove every dll which have disappeared? 

Thx for your help.

Cédric

Mar 12, 2014 19:39
Vote:

You should upgrade site where you have access to source code. After upgrade - it's pretty essential to have referenced correct EPiServer dlls within the web project. To reference correct EPiServer dlls you have to link your project code to those EPiServer dll during source code compile time. After you have managed to get upgraded site up&running locally / on test server / wherever, you should be good to proceed with re-deployment of new site version to the production environment.

Upgrade processes may never be easy and usually there is no silverbullet solutions. It may depend from case to case.

Mar 12, 2014 20:51
Vote:

Thank you Valdis.

1) Not sure I understand what you mean by "you have to link your project code to those dll during source code compile time". The dlls are referenced in Visual Studio, but nothing more happens at compile time.