Try our conversational search powered by Generative AI!

Admin and cold start performance

Vote:

Is there any way to speed up the episerver editor/admin part?

It seems like theres no bundling happening, and the browser makes roughly 200 requests to show toolbar which is insane! Even when i run the system locally it takes around 8 seconds to just show the basic UI which is horrible. 

The cold boot is also a lot slower than epi 6. Inn epi 6 it was possible to exclude some dlls from the startup, is it possible to do something similar in epi 7.

As a developer i spend probably 60% of my days now just waiting for episerver to start from the last compilation and redraw the UI. 

It's probably something that can't be fixed without access to the source code but hopefully the developers at episerver reads this and realises that they will lose a lot of customers if they dont fix this soon. A pissed off developer can easily remove tens of yearly subscriptions and tens of new customers.

Sep 09, 2013 17:59
Vote:

One way is to exclude some dll from EPiServer Framework scanning process (http://stackoverflow.com/questions/16550827/what-does-forcebinfolderscan-attribute-in-episerverframework-config-file-means/16560302#16560302) but from experience that will not give you significant improvements (unless you have huge list of libraries those really does not contain EPiServer related stuff).

Sep 09, 2013 21:51
Vote:

Hi Tommy!

Which browser are you running? I'm running my development environment with a bit over 1000 request (without any minification/layer packaging) with a load time around 4 seconds in Chrome. With minified layer files I'm done to a bit over 3 seconds. Doing the same thing with Firefox adds a few more seconds so Chrome is currently the main browser for most of our developers.