Can't create pages any longer

Member since: 2010
 

I am getting desperate slowly. I am trying to create a page in edit mode and I keep getting errors. (This is an ongoing development, this used to work normally until yesterday afternoon).

In all browsers, I am getting this error:

Error: Unable to load /secret/shell/Stores/metadata/?type=EPiServer.Core.ContentData&modelAccessor=%7B%22parentLink%22%3A%224%22%2C%22contentTypeId%22%3A24%7D&dojo.preventCache=1359550304396 status:500
Error: No such type

In FF, there is also this (besides the upper one):

NetworkError: 500 Internal Server Error - http://localhost:12347/secret/shell/Stores/metadata/?type=EPiServer.Core.ContentData&modelAccessor=%7B%22parentLink%22%3A%224%22%2C%22contentTypeId%22%3A24%7D&dojo.preventCache=1359550354011"

 

From the old edit view, I can normally create pages, but the pages I create can't be edited in the new edit view. (edit on page doesn't work, nor does the click on the button). In this case I get the error:

TypeError: Object doesn't support property or method 'onMetadataResolve'
RangeError: Array length must be assigned a finite positive number

There is nothing in our code that seems to have caused this, no changes in javascript files (when these js files are removed from head, same errors occur).

 

Any clues?

#65464 Jan 30, 2013 14:00
  • Member since: 2010
     
    This is the page type that doesn't work:
    [ContentType(
            GUID = "e47aa05f-66e6-4868-9f3f-ba2e3471900f")]
        [SiteImageUrl]
        public class CourseDetailPage : SitePageData, IShareable
        {
            [Display(
                GroupName = SystemTabNames.Content,
                Order = 100)]
            public virtual ImageBlock Image { get; set; }
    
            [Display(
                GroupName = SystemTabNames.Content,
                Order = 110)]
            [UIHint(UIHint.Textarea)]
            public virtual string Preamble { get; set; }
            
            [Display(
                GroupName = SystemTabNames.Content,
                Order = 120)]
            public virtual XhtmlString MainContent { get; set; }
    
            [Display(
                GroupName = SystemTabNames.Content,
                Order = 125)]
            public virtual ContentArea MainContentArea { get; set; }
    
            [Display(
                GroupName = SystemTabNames.Content,
                Order = 130)]
            public virtual ContentArea RightContentArea { get; set; }
    
            [Display(
                GroupName = SystemTabNames.Content,
                Order = 140)]
            public virtual ContentArea AccordionContentArea { get; set; }
    
            [Display(
                GroupName = SystemTabNames.Content,
                Order = 150)]
            public virtual ContentArea BottomContentArea { get; set; }
    
            [Display(
                GroupName = GroupNames.MetaData,
                Order = 340)]
            public virtual bool? ShowShareLinksOnTop { get; set; }
    
            [Display(
                GroupName = GroupNames.MetaData,
                Order = 350)]
            public virtual bool? ShowShareLinksOnBottom { get; set; }
    
            [Display(
                GroupName = GroupNames.CourseInfo,
                Order = 360)]
            public virtual string Price { get; set; }
    
            [Display(
                GroupName = GroupNames.CourseInfo,
                Order = 370)]
            public virtual string Level { get; set; }
    
            [Display(
                GroupName = GroupNames.CourseInfo,
                Order = 380)]
            public virtual string Lang { get; set; }
    
            [Display(
                GroupName = GroupNames.CourseInfo,
                Order = 390)]
            public virtual string Length { get; set; }
    
            [Display(
                GroupName = GroupNames.CourseInfo,
                Order = 400)]
            public virtual string CourseCode { get; set; }
        }
        
     
    This is all I get from FF:
     
    RangeError: invalid array length
    _454()dojo.js (line 15)
    _c32()widgets.js (line 2)
    _174()dojo.js (line 15)
    _172()dojo.js (line 15)
    ()dojo.js (line 15)
    _174()dojo.js (line 15)
    _172()dojo.js (line 15)
    ()dojo.js (line 15)
    _174()dojo.js (line 15)
    _172()dojo.js (line 15)
    ()dojo.js (line 15)
    _174()dojo.js (line 15)
    _172()dojo.js (line 15)
    ()dojo.js (line 15)
    _174()dojo.js (line 15)
    _172()dojo.js (line 15)
    ()dojo.js (line 15)
     
    ...s);if(this.anchor){if(!this.getItem(this.anchor.id)){this.anchor=null;}}var t=[]...
    #65469 Jan 30, 2013 14:32
  • Member since: 2002
     

    Can you open the faulty call to the meta data service in a new browser and post the stack trace of the error?

    #65477 Jan 30, 2013 16:14
  • Member since: 2010
     

    I am not getting that one any longer (since I have restored the DB where I used to have a PropertyAppSettings which was missing from appSettings.config), so I fixed this easily.

    Now I am getting only the error from the second post (there are no links there that I can make use of). Perhaps this helps you:

    http://imageshack.us/f/838/rangeerror.jpg/

    #65480 Jan 30, 2013 16:23
  • Member since: 2010
     

    This is 100% reproducible - it happens locally for every developer; on test and staging. We are all sharing the same DB and the staging DB is restored from test.

    #65491 Jan 30, 2013 16:58
  • Member since: 2002
     

    Hi!


    I have tested this and it turns out we match the meta data for the objects to a JavaScript object with the property names as the key. And the key "length" is a reserved key in JavaScript. We will of course fix this by prefixing the keys but for now, the work around is to rename the Length property.

    #65502 Jan 31, 2013 9:16
  • Member since: 2010
     

    Thank you so much!

    #65510 Jan 31, 2013 9:47
  • Member since: 2014
     

    Hi ,

    I am new in Episerver. I am using CMS 9.10.1 for our Intarnet site with Windows Authentication and geting similar error while trying to access Edit Mode.

    Error : http://domain/EPiServer/shell/Stores/context/?uri=epi.cms.contentdata%3A%2F%2F%2F5&dojo.preventCache=1490269669905 404 (Not Found).

    When I am trying it in IE 11 browser, it showing me all pages locked and can't access that.

    How I can apply suggested fix here.

    Thanks

    Abhishek

    #176645 Mar 23, 2017 13:15
This thread is locked and should be used for reference only. Please use the Episerver CMS 7 and earlier versions forum to open new discussions.
Please login to post a reply