Try our conversational search powered by Generative AI!

Custom Page Providers

Vote:

Hello,

I'm a developer using EpiServer CMS 5R2 on a new project. I've been tasked with creating a CustomPageProvider to link to an existing back end store which we don't have control of. However looking at the sample provider (XmlPageProvider) it appears that the provider is responsible for maintaining the meta information that EpiServer needs for example (from the examples.xml document):

<page id="10011" parent="10010" pagetypeid="3" versionid="1" security="Everyone:Read;Administrators:Create,Edit">
      <property name="PageGUID">35a988fe-2bc1-4e45-a41f-3a009a660551</property>
      <property name="PageTypeID">3</property>
      <property name="PageWorkStatus">4</property>
      <property name="PageFolderID">118</property>
      <property name="PageTypeName">[Public] Standard page</property>
      <property name="PageMasterLanguageBranch">en</property>
      <property name="PageLanguageBranch">en</property>
      <!---- SNIP! ---->
      <! ----- Actual content I think--->
     <property name="Heading">A subpage</property>
     <property name="MainBody"><p>an external subpage</p></property>
     <property name="SecondaryBody"><p>second body</p></property>
     <property name="MetaAuthor">John Doe</property>
</page>

I'm a little concerned by this as I would prefer EpiServer takes care of this. This is a high volume website and it would be nice if my services didn't have to contain an extra data store in order to maintain this information, there will be cacheability concerns to say the least.

So, questions:

1. Is a custom page provider the right tool for the job?

2. If so, is there a way to push this responsibility back onto EpiServer?

3. If not, can you give me any recommendations on how best to approach storing this data? As it is over and above what will be coming from our data source.

Much appreciated!

Robert Stevenson-Leggett

Feb 03, 2009 11:20
Vote: