Try our conversational search powered by Generative AI!

Creating custom property question

Vote:

Hello world!

I'm new to the development of EPISERVER and have a question(and help!) regarding the creation of Custom Property:

I need to create a Custom Property containing a list of existing Properties -> i've created a new Custom Property but I do not know how to add an existing Property List and continue with this.

For example:

1) I have next Properties (all I can define separately, works fine): "Recurrence type, Recurrence every, Recurrence weekday, Recurrence day, Recurrence month and Recurrence finish date".

2) I've created a new Property named 'Recurrence Settings' - My purpose to do so clicking on 'Recurrence Settings' will open a window(like a pop-up) where I can see list of properties above.

3) I built template contains elements of pop-up showing a list of Property but they are not linked to Real Properties, just html page.

4) When clicking on 'Recurrence Settings' - opens a pop-up window that contains these elements.

5) I wrote a javascript that allows to manipulate the elements in the pop-up window (to show or hide different elements depends to Recurrence type, for example).

6) I can get a values (in javascript) from different inputs but I'm stucked here - how to pass them? 

I thought I should put real Property List to pop-up window and so to solve the problem?

Any idea and help are welcome,

Leonid. :)

May 08, 2016 13:35
Vote:

Hi Leonid.

Basically, you have two different options to achieve your end goal - supporting a set of properties as a re-usable property across content types.

Simple approach.
Episerver normally recommends to combine your shared set of properties via a BlockType and then use that as an in-line property on your ContentTypes. It would e.g. mean that you could do something like this:

[ContentType(DisplayName = "TeaserBlock", GUID = "38d57768-e09e-4da9-90df-54c73c61b270", Description = "Heading and image.")]