Don't miss out Virtual Happy Hour this Friday (April 26).

Try our conversational search powered by Generative AI!

Using Forms based Auth instead of Windows based

Vote:

Forgive my ignorance as I am new to Episerver and evaluating the product for the first time. It seems that out-of-the-box default installation utilises Windows based authentication to log into the CMS. I have worked with a few other .NET CMS systems, and non seem to operate this way.

I have found posts on enabling SQLAuthProviders for the native .NET membership, but the question I have is how to create an Administrator account instead of the Windows Auth account? In essence what I'm trying to achieve is not having a windows account as the global administrator, but instead have it as a .NET membership created account.

Can anyone point me in the right direction?

Thanks in advance

Feb 16, 2011 6:55
Vote:

The out of  box have these elements in web.config

<membership defaultProvider="WindowsMembershipProvider" userIsOnlineTimeWindow="10">

<add name="MultiplexingMembershipProvider" type="EPiServer.Security.MultiplexingMembershipProvider, EPiServer" provider1="SqlServerMembershipProvider" provider2="WindowsMembershipProvider"/>

<add name="WindowsMembershipProvider" type="EPiServer.Security.WindowsMembershipProvider, EPiServer" deletePrefix="BUILTIN\" searchByEmail="true"/>

<add name="SqlServerMembershipProvider" type="System.Web.Security.SqlMembershipProvider, System.Web, Version=2.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=b03f5f7f11d50a3a" connectionStringName="EPiServerDB" requiresQuestionAndAnswer="false" applicationName="EPiServerSample" requiresUniqueEmail="true" passwordFormat="Hashed" maxInvalidPasswordAttempts="5" minRequiredPasswordLength="7" minRequiredNonalphanumericCharacters="0" passwordAttemptWindow="10" passwordStrengthRegularExpression=""/>

</membership>

The multiplexing provider will give you both users from a database and the windows users. So change pvoider like this