Try our conversational search powered by Generative AI!

How to get the pagetype property description/caption

Vote:

I'm totally new to both Episerver and ASP.NET/C# so the question might be a little unclear...

I have started with adjusting on a page template and have succeeded so far, but it would be nice to fix some small details:

I have added several xhtml properties (fields? - unsure of the correct term...) that are diplayed one after the other in a column. At the beginning of each property/text, I would like to display the name/caption of the  property as shown in admin/pagetype for the value, but only if the property contains something.

Something like this:

Myfield1

This is the text for the first  property

Myfield2

This is the text for the second  property

Myfield1 and  Myfield2 are the name/captions/fieldname for the property 

Being av newbie - a code example would be very nice.

Regards

Petter 

Dec 08, 2011 16:50
Vote:

I'd like to say that this is quite an unorthodox solution because the display name/caption is set in admin mode by an administrator while the content is set by the editor. I would say it is more common to keep the "heading" in a separate string property for the editor to set.

If you still want to get the values displayed in edit mode, you should get the PropertyData from the page using something like this:

var propertyData = CurrentPage.Property["MyProperty"];
var propertyDefinition = PageDefinition.Load(propertyData.PageDefinitionID);
var caption = propertyDefinition.EditCaption;

Edited, Dec 08, 2011 20:21
Vote:

Hi Magnus.

Thank you for your reply.

You say: "If you still want to get the values displayed in edit mode"