Try our conversational search powered by Generative AI!

Best process to create the build/automate the build process

Vote:

Dear experts,

I am kind of new to use MsBuild package and using TransformXML

I would like to know the best practices to automate the build process with different environments (dev/stage/production) setup. I have seen in version 7 sample alloy templates, they are using MSBuild and Transform and the configuration files with differences varies. Also they are using ms build command in post script. Is it a good practice to go with? Do we find any issues or limitations in this approach?

If anyone can post some good tips how to start, where to start, and what approach should be the best to take would be very much appreciated.

Kind regards,
Emma

Jan 14, 2015 10:43
Vote:

Hi Emma,

That will probably work well for smaller setups but I think you should also have a look at Octopus Deploy (together with a build server of course). I see more and more people using it and it works well for EPiServer projects. The only problem I'm having with it regards the deployment of EPiServer Add-ons which requires some special tricks, but it's doable.

/Emil

Edited, Jan 15, 2015 1:01
Vote:

Hi Emil,

Thanks once again for your valuable post. 

When you say I need a build server? What is that, CruiseControl server or do you recommend any server for that too? Sorry if you found it silly, i just want to know how to start this.

Note:- Just editing the same post as I have learnt a few things more about octopus deploy.

Octopus takes package files and do the deployment. So, my question is I still need to use the MSBuild/Transform to create packages or Visual Studio TFS will do the build package right? And that package will be used by Octupus. Please correct me if I am wrong. So that, means I do need to have a build server or Cruise Control along with Octopus.

Also, can Octupus work without any build server?

Kind regards,

Emma

Edited, Jan 15, 2015 14:04
Vote: