Don't miss out Virtual Happy Hour this Friday (April 26).

Try our conversational search powered by Generative AI!

Can't get any error logs in windows eventviewer when getting a 500 error.

Vote:

Hi, I'm pretty new to EPiServer and I have been tasked to upgrade an site from EPiServer 8 to EPiServer 11.

I have managed to upgrade all the packages and resolved all conflicts and error messages in the code. However when I run the site using visualstudio and IIS express I just get a "500 - internal service error."

From what I understand from reading about the topic, the 500 error should be caused by a problem in the web.config file and that I should get a more detailed error log in the windows event viewer. However I don't get anything in the eventviewer after testing the site on my work laptop. I managed to get error logs if I use the pre-upgrade version of the site, but not when testing the one with the EPi 11 upgrade. I have also managed to get error logs in the eventviewer when testing the project with the upgrade on other computers than my work laptop. 

I need to get these error log to show up in the eventviewer on my work laptop in order to continue working with this project, but how do I do that? Any help would be appreciated.

Nov 18, 2020 10:21
Vote:

Hi David,

Have you run clean on the solution on your local environment and after that checked that you 'bin' folder is empty - and if not empty, then delete everything there is in the folder. Also it might be worth deleting everything from your Temporary ASP.NET folder (default location C:\Windows\Microsoft.NET\Framework64\v4.0.30319\Temporary ASP.NET Files) <- making assumption you are using x64.

Rebuild and try to access the site again..

You should also look at the Episerver logs produced by the site - really depends where you have those configured to.