Try our conversational search powered by Generative AI!

Episerver CMS Editor Properties visibility in editor

Vote:

Hi,

I am not sure if this is already discussed in the forum or not. I am very new to the episerver platform. Sorry if I am repeating. But I am facing a challenge when defining properties in episerver. When defining the blocks I want a property to be available in the clinet side when the block is edited but the editor won't be able to see it.

So, to simplify, let's say I have a property name B which should be populated via dojo widget in client side when some value is changed in for property A by the editor but the editor should not be able to see that B property from the editor view. It should be hidden but accessible so that I can update the value via dojo widget.

Is it possible? Appreciate a quick help.

I am using Episerver 9

Thanks
Chandan

Feb 08, 2017 13:38
Vote:

For the view, you can use PageEditing.PageIsInEditMode function to check if the page is opened in edit mode.

To hide the properties in All Properties view, you can move them to a custom tab which is only visible to site administrators.

Feb 08, 2017 13:51
Vote:

If I understand your problem correctly, you want to have a property which isn't visible to the editor but is set based on the value a user enters in a different property. In this instance, I'd suggest that, rather than handling this client side in dojo, you should handle this server side.

First of all, to hide your property from the editor, add the following attribute:
[ScaffoldColumn(false)]

This attribute keeps the property as part of the model but instructs the CMS not to include it in the editing interface.

Next you'll need to add the logic to set property B based on property A. The simplest option for this is to add some logic into the getter for property B which references property A. An example of this is the way MetaTitle is handled in Alloy:

public virtual string MetaTitle
        {
            get