Try our conversational search powered by Generative AI!

Logging for certain admin section

Vote:

I am very new to Episerver and still learning. I got stuck in developing one scenerio.

Scenerio:

I have some master data kept in admin sections which gets reused to display some information in frontend. However, in case this admin data is invalid or having some troubles reading them, I want them to be stored somewhere so that the admin can see them when want to find the root cause of the issue. How we can incorporate this with Epi Server? Is there anything builtin to manage any editor/admins level issues and record them in user friendly manner so that admins/editors can have a look when they need?

Thanks a lot in advance!

Chandan

Jan 10, 2017 14:41
Vote:

Hmm not sure I get what you are after but...

There are plenty of places where you can extend Episerver. Either you can create a custom gadget for editors in edit mode that reports any errors you have with this? A custom tool in admin mode is another option if only admins need to see this. 

Maybe it's enough to validate when a page is published? Then you can add custom validation for a page by implementing the IValidate interface. 

Jan 10, 2017 15:10
Vote:

Hi Daniel

Thanks a lot for responding. Actually I have a hold of the errors and exceptions. But I am thinking if there is any simple way to show them to the admins/editors. Let's say, I have some facebook configuration information in admin setting. Now, when I am using that in a controller to get the facebook posts, I found that the facebook configuration informations are invalid and not returning data. How I can keep the logs and show them to the admins when they visit the admin section, facebook configuration section so that they change the configuration accordingly. Is there any out of the box mechanism of doin that in Epi Server?

Thank You
Chandan

Jan 10, 2017 15:57
Vote: