Don't miss out Virtual Happy Hour this Friday (April 26).

Try our conversational search powered by Generative AI!

Page that lists links to pdfs

Vote:

Hello, I am new to episerver and CMS frameworks in general. I was hoping one of you could help me out and point me in the right direction with a bit of functionality I am trying to achieve.

I will be uploading a series of pdf documents to the site (i want to be able to use the media management tool seen here http://prntscr.com/3imt9r). These pdfs will be associated with one to many categories.

Now, I want to build a page that lsits all the pdfs associated with a specifc category (there will be one page per category). The list will look something like this http://prntscr.com/3imuzi

What would be the best way to achieve said functionality.

Thanks in advance

May 12, 2014 21:59
Vote:

Welcome Alex

You use the contentloader along with the contentassetshelper.  you just get the children of the folder

May 13, 2014 4:32
Vote:

http://world.episerver.com/Modules/Forum/Pages/Thread.aspx?id=81106&epslanguage=en

Take a look at that link.  that should help you achieve your task.  If it still doesn't make sense feel free to keep posting and we will help you as much as we can

Edited, May 13, 2014 4:36
Vote:

Let's say that file browser can be generalized and be created as block - you can drag it on the page and configure which folder to enlist (reference to that folder will be in `MediaFolder` property.

public class FileBrowserBlock : BaseBlockData
{
    [Display(Name = "Media folder", Order = 10)]
    [UIHint(UIHint.MediaFolder)]
    public virtual ContentReference MediaFolder { get; set; }
}

You may better need a controller for that.

public class FileBrowserBlockController : BlockController<FileBrowserBlock>
{
    private readonly IContentLoader loader;

public FileBrowserBlockController(IContentLoader loader)
    {
        this.loader = loader;
    }
}

It's always good to have a view model: