Try our conversational search powered by Generative AI!

Localization for content editors

Vote:

Hi,

I'm quite new to EPiServer, so this question may already be solved, but I didn't find a solution yet. What is the standard way of having shared localized content. For instance, if I want to have a dropdown list on the site binded to enum with a possibility of content editors to edit it?

Just an example: I want to display a a dropdown with car names:

<select>
  <option value="volvo">Volvo</option>
  <option value="saab">Saab</option>
  <option value="mercedes">Mercedes</option>
  <option value="audi">Audi</option>
</select>

I want to take a values from enum and Texts from some global translation(content editors should edit it in Edit mode). Is there already this kind of localization provider in EPi Server?

The solution for this I see now is to create a PageType - LocalizationPage, and put a separate blocks on it. For instance, here it will be a block CarNamesBlock with a fields

Volvo, Saab, Mercedes, Audi.

Is it a kind of standard way?

Apr 18, 2014 16:26
Vote:

I would say that proper way would be to create editor descriptor that is providing possible values from your enum. For instance like this:

public class EnumEditorDescriptor<TEnum> : EditorDescriptor where TEnum : struct, IComparable, IConvertible, IFormattable
    {
        public override void ModifyMetadata(ExtendedMetadata metadata, IEnumerable<Attribute> attributes)
        {
            SelectionFactoryType = typeof(EnumSelectionFactory<TEnum>);
            ClientEditingClass = "epi-cms/contentediting/editors/SelectionEditor";
            base.ModifyMetadata(metadata, attributes);
        }
    }

public class EnumSelectionFactory<TEnum> : ISelectionFactory
    {
        public IEnumerable<ISelectItem> GetSelections(ExtendedMetadata metadata)
        {
            var values = Enum.GetValues(typeof(TEnum));
            return (from object value in values
                select new SelectItem