Try our conversational search powered by Generative AI!

Adding option for users to register and login to my website

Vote:

I'm developing a website on soccer players in Episerver and I want my visitor to register (preferably in the future with Facebook, Google or Microsoft), login and manage a watchlist of their favorite players on my website. After reading a few docs I have four solutions to go for;

• EPiServerProfile; this gives me a head start, still I don't know if I can ever use social logins?
  • Epi server commerce; this seems like overfitting the problem. I don't intent to sell anything. But maybe feature complete?
  • Use EPiServer.Cms.UI.AspNetIdentity; this allready got my cms account it so why not use this?
  • Build everthing custom and try to manage users; I like to do this but would take me along time and I want to manage the users in Epi server (Maybe descend from PageData?)

I'm a bit new to episerver so who is whiling to rate my solutions? 

Jul 09, 2019 13:53
Vote:

Hi,

Please refer the below blog post for creating custom logins using facebook and google oauth.

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/aspnet/mvc/overview/security/create-an-aspnet-mvc-5-app-with-facebook-and-google-oauth2-and-openid-sign-on

Thanks

Ravindra

Jul 09, 2019 16:33
Vote:

I would also recommend the EPiServer.Cms.UI.AspNetIdentity. Because, as internally CMS accounts are also stored in the same table (dbo.AspNetUsers). Even if in future you install and use the commerce you can import your user into contacts using script.

And, the blog shared by Ravindra very well fits for your requirement.

Thanks

Praful

Jul 10, 2019 8:56
Vote:

Thanks Praful, one question.

Are there any security issues with combing the cms users and the website users in the same system? I can imagine that mixing these can give some website users more rights then they need.

Jul 10, 2019 10:00
Vote:

Hi Holden