Try our conversational search powered by Generative AI!

Episerver CMS Update to 11

Vote:

Hello There,

I am very new to Episerver 10, I have been updated Episerver CMS 10 to 11, I followed steps given in the link 
https://world.episerver.com/documentation/Items/Installation-Instructions/Installing-Episerver-updates/

I did updates for each EPIServer Items through the Nuget Package Manager. > Updates tabs ( i.e. Episerver CMS, Episerver CMS.AspNet, EPIServer.CMS.Core etc). After upgradation I build the project and it was successful.

But when I am going to acces the site I am getting fillowing error.

Type 'EPiServer.SpecializedProperties.LinkItem' could not be mapped to a PropertyDefinitionType

I checked source code and there is no any CMS property of type LinkItem. 
In source code I have property of LinkItemCollection, will that one is causing issue. If yes the what is alternate for this.

Secondly I am trying to update the database usign command 
update-epidatabase from package manage cosole. But I am getting error 'There is no 'nuget packages' directory'. 

Third question as I updated the CMS do I need to udpate commerce manager too?

Does anyone help me out. 

Edited, Mar 26, 2018 14:31
Vote:

For your third question, yes, if you upgrade your frontend/cms/commerce site, you will have to upgrade CM. But that can be done after you complete upgrading your frontend site. 

Mar 26, 2018 15:32
Vote:

Your second question, I've had the same issue few times with Visual Studio 2017 and the cure was to clean the solution, close visual studio (all instances), open the solution and then the update-epidatabase worked just fine from package manager console.

As an alternate you could add the attribute updateDatabaseSchema="true" to episerver.framework to work out the database schema update issue:

<episerver.framework updateDatabaseSchema="true">