Don't miss out Virtual Happy Hour this Friday (April 26).

Try our conversational search powered by Generative AI!

Scheduled jobs not running when not logged in (CMS 10)

Vote:

I have 2 custom scheduled jobs that run on their schedules when I am logged in, however they stop running when I log out. How can I get them to run all the time, regardless of if I am logged in or not? The test site I am running the scheduled jobs on is password protected, and requires logging in to access it. Could this be the reason the scheduled job doesnt run when I log off? 

Any help would be much appreciated. This is my first time writing scheduled jobs.

The EmailerJob is scheduled to run every 15 minutes in the admin panel, and it does this successfully when logged in.

Code:

namespace mySite.Business.ScheduledTasks
{
    [ScheduledPlugIn
        (DisplayName = "Emailer Job")]
    public class EmailerJob : ScheduledJobBase
    {
        private readonly Injected _emailService;

private bool _stopSignaled;

private List _error = new List();
        private List _sentLog = new List();

public EmailerJob()
        {
            IsStoppable = true;
        }

public override void Stop()
        {
            _stopSignaled = true;
        }

public override string Execute()
        {
          // the settings page has properties used in the job function (e.g. email addresses, content, retry attempts, delete file from server after [x] days, etc )
          var contentLoader = ServiceLocator.Current.GetInstance();
          var settings = contentLoader.GetChildren(ContentReference.RootPage).FirstOrDefault();          

return string.Format(
                    "{0} Email(s) Sent
Details:
{1}
{2} Errors
Details:
{3}", _sentLog.Count, string.Join("", _sentLog), _error.Count, string.Join("", _error)); } } }
Sep 08, 2017 14:26
Vote:

A couple of things: