Try our conversational search powered by Generative AI!

Global site data/properties

Vote:

Hi

I'm quite new to EpiServer and are trying to build a basic site. I have created a working set of PageData, following this pattern:

[CultureSpecific]
        [Display(Name = "Meta description",
            GroupName = SiteTabNames.SEO, Order = 200)]
        public virtual string MetaDescription { get; set; }

These can be edited for each page, and that's what I want in this case. But my question is this; what is the best practice for creating a similar set of preoperties, but not specific for each page, but rather global for the entire site (this could be contact info that goes in the footer, or other things that I want to reuse across all pages)? 

I have searched for this a while, but can't seem to find a solution anywhere, and this seems like a common feature. There's probably some obvious solution that I'm missing here, and I'd really  appreciate any help towards solving this.

(I'm on version 10.10.4)

Nov 08, 2017 13:24
Vote:

One solution is to add them to the startpage, since the startpage is always easy to retrieve from any page.

Nov 08, 2017 16:09
Vote:

Thanks a lot, logically that makes sense, and I thought I could work it out myself - but aparently not.. Would you have a simple example of how the property is declared on the startPage (if not in the way I have done it in my example), and a simple example of how to retrieve the property one the startpage from a different site (in the latest episerver version). I can get the startPage with ContentReference.StartPage, but I can't find how to retrieve the property, so I assume I'm doing either the property or the getting wrong :/ 

Nov 09, 2017 9:25
Vote: