Try our conversational search powered by Generative AI!

Member login

Vote:

Pardon my ignorance on this subject, I am new to Episerver.

I want to create a member registration, login, Facebook login and forgot password page. This is for the users who will have access to the restricted content on the site. These users will have nothing to do with the Episerver CMS.

I tried searching on this topic but did not find any relevant information.

Can someone help me with any reference links or info in this regard.

Thanks
Pankaj

Mar 10, 2015 16:56
Vote:

You can create a separate page types for Register / Login / Reset password page, and then implement the logic in index action.

I blogged about login functionality in AlloyTech using web api 2: http://dcaric.com/blog/episerver-login-functionality-using-web-api-2

Could be helpful :)

Mar 11, 2015 9:22
Vote:

Thanks Dejan, I followed your blog post and was able to set up a Login page.

In the same way I can setup the registration page as well (if that’s possible).

I have few questions such as:

• Are these users same as Episerver CMS users.
  • Once I register a user from new registration page, will they have access to Episerver CMS. I dont want that to happen.
  • While registering a user I want to include features like Birth Date, Facebook ID. Is this possible (creating new properties for front end user).

Thanks
Pankaj

Mar 11, 2015 9:42
Vote:

I don't see it as EPi and non-EPi users.
In web.config, you can set different role and membership providers. Just like in any other ASP.NET application.

Then in web.config, you can set which users / groups have access to admin mode.

<location path="EPiServer/CMS/admin">
    <system.web>
        <authorization>
            <allow roles="CmsAdmins" />
            <deny users="*" />
        </authorization>
    </system.web>
</location>

CmsAdmins role can be from SqlServerRoleProvider, WindowsRoleProvider, your custom provider...