NullReferenceException on SubMenu.PageLink = Menulist.OpenTopPage

NullReferenceException on SubMenu.PageLink = Menulist.OpenTopPage

Hi,

I recieve a NullreferenceException on the following line of code:

SubMenu.PageLink = MenuList.OpenTopPage;

when trying to create an EPiServer:PageTree menu control.

My complete code for the SubMenu.ascx:

public partial class LeftMenu : EPiServer.UserControlBase { //Variable private MenuList _menulist; //Property public MenuList Menulist { get { return _menulist; } set { _menulist = value; } } protected override void OnLoad(System.EventArgs e) { base.OnLoad(e); SubMenu.PageLink = Menulist.OpenTopPage; SubMenu.DataBind(); } }

Any ideas why? I'm new to EPi so pelase bear with me ;-)

Thanks for your answers!

#29855 May 19, 2009 12:00
  •  

Hi,

I think it might be because you are setting the PageLink property too late on the Page_Load event, it should be on the Page_Init event.

Take a look at the example and associated paragraphs about this issue on the following page:

http://sdk.episerver.com/library/cms5/html/P_EPiServer_Web_WebControls_PageControlBase_PageLink.htm

All the best...

#29864 May 19, 2009 14:29
  •  

Hi,

Strange?

I see what you mean. But according to the "Getting Started" demo from EPi World ("Developing a submenu EPiServer:PageTree") it's said to pu the PageLink property in the OnLoad event?

Thanks!

#29865 May 19, 2009 14:59
  •