Try our conversational search powered by Generative AI!

How to persist changes to content function property values when cloning a page

Vote:

Hi all,

I'm quite new to EPiServer, and have just inherited the job of maintaining and developing an existing EPiServer site. I'm using Composer 4 with EPiServer 6 R2.

We have a custom "Add language" tab next to our "Preview" and "Edit" tabs when viewing a page in Edit Mode. On the "Add language" tab the CMS user selects the following:

- A target language (e.g. German, French, Spanish...)
- Whether to process just the current page or all nested pages
- Whether to skip any pages already added for the selected target language
- Whether to publish the resulting page(s) or just save them.

The CMS user then clicks "Go" and the code creates a copy of each selected page. At this point, although the language of the new page is set to (e.g.) German, the text on the new version of each page is still in English. A human translator then edits the new version of the page and enters the German translations.

All of the above is working fine.

I have now been asked to extend the functionality of the "Add language" tab such that it gives the CMS user an additional "Translate?" option. If selected, this causes the code to use Microsoft Translator to automatically generate an initial draft of the translation. (Let's ignore the question of whether this is a good idea. It's not my decision!) I am therefore trying to extend the code such that it will examine all the content functions within each new page version, and translate them if necessary. The translation itself works fine, but I have so far failed to work out how to actually save the content functions such that the translated data is persisted into the database. I have seen this article...

http://labs.dropit.se/blogs/post/2009/03/25/Updating-an-existing-EPiServer-Composer-function-in-code-behind.aspx