Try our conversational search powered by Generative AI!

Global Price Increase

jim
jim
Vote:

Hello All

Commerce Version 5.15

CMS 8.51

I would greatly appreciate your input. I am fairly new to Episerver (finding it pretty amazing btw) and I have been tasked with implmenting a 5% price increase across the board, all prices. I have heard a few different suggestions but I am trying decide on a failry safe and expedient course of action. 

Your input is greatly welcomed.

Aug 03, 2017 21:58
Vote:

I'm not sure there was a 5.15. Perhaps it's 8.15?

Of course the safest way to do such thing is to use IPriceServiceDetail to load all prices, update the unit prices then save back.

The fastest way is to write some SQL code to update the table PriceValue directly, but I would advise against that, unless the previous method is too slow.

Aug 04, 2017 9:55
jim
Vote:

Thanks Quan

We decided to go the IPriceServiceDetail route. What is the best way to get started. It seesm as the SDK examples are focused on modifying Commerce. Should we be using the Service API? I was hoping to get this done with a console app.

Aug 08, 2017 1:17
jim
Vote:

Quan

I am new to Epi but I feel as though I should be able to instantiate an object of some Episerver Commerce type, then call upon the IPriceServiceDetail to use on of the methods like getPrices. However I am finding that there are not examples that describe this process. Should be using the Epi Server API, if so then I need to install it I guess.

JL

Aug 08, 2017 1:32
Vote:

You don't have to install anything else, IPriceServiceDetail is a builtin API in Episerver Commerce Core. The steps would be:

• Start from RootContent (ReferenceConverter.GetRootLink())
  • Get the catalogs by IContentRepository.GetChildren
  • Recursively get the children of those catalogs. If the content is an entry, (ReferenceConverter.GetContentType(ContentReference) is a CatalogContentType.Entry, call IPriceServiceDetail.List(ContentReference)